The IRM is incredibly proud of our scientists and excited when they receive outside recognition. Recently, several IRM researchers received major award and honors. Congratulations to these remarkable scientists!

Marisa S. Bartolomei, Ph.D Marisa Bartolomei was inducted into the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) as part of its 2021 class. NAS recognized Dr. Bartolomei, who serves as co-Director of the IRM’s Reproductive Medicine program, for her contributions to our understanding of genomic imprinting. She joins 119 other scientists in this year’s class of inductees, a class that includes a record-breaking number of women.
Kenneth S. Zaret IRM Director Ken Zaret has been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. The country’s founders established the Academy in 1780 to “provide guidance to a young nation that would face challenges and need expertise and excellence to emerge stronger.” Dr. Zaret joins a number of leaders in the sciences, arts, humanities, and other fields as part of this year’s class.
Rajan Jain
The American Society for Clinical Investigation (ASCI) named Rajan Jain as the recipient of the 2021 Donald Seldin~Holly Smith Award for Pioneering Research. Dr. Jain will receive an unrestricted award of $30,000 to advance his academic efforts and will deliver a scientific talk at the 2022 AAP/ASCI/APSA Joint Meeting.
Dennis E. Discher The Biomedical Engineering Society awarded Dennis Discher the 2021 Shu Chien Achievement Award. This Award is bestowed upon an individual who has demonstrated meritorious contributions to the field of cellular and molecular bioengineering.




Photo by DESIGNECOLOGIST on Unsplash